Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Sports (Primarily) Vintage Memorabilia Forum incl. Game Used (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Advice on cleaning editing marks on silver gelatin photos (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=236438)

T206Jim 03-06-2017 08:42 PM

Advice on cleaning editing marks on silver gelatin photos

1 Attachment(s)
I recognize the best advice may be to leave well enough alone.

However, I am considering removing the "halo" and "H" editing marks from this Chief Bender photo. If I decide to clean it any advice on best practices to accomplish this?

Leon 03-07-2017 11:53 AM

When I read what you are going to do, I first thought Oh My Gosh. I am not an expert on what you are talking about so kind of got stuck there. Good luck. If it were mine I would probably leave it alone. It looks kind of fragile. I should add, I am referring to the Halo. The crop marks look a bit easier....though still outside of my expertise.

koufax1fan 03-07-2017 02:40 PM

photo cleaning

Hello:
I have used a cotton ball or swab, it works very nicely in removing most crop marks.
Phil

Exhibitman 03-07-2017 04:52 PM

Pec-12 and the company's wipes are made for it. If the white stuff is water based you could also try a Q-Tip (well, many, many of them) dipped in distilled water. I did this photo of Kid Kaplan (HOF):

Before:

http://photos.imageevent.com/exhibit...lan_%20Kid.jpg

After:

http://photos.imageevent.com/exhibit...1925%20NEA.jpg

thecatspajamas 03-07-2017 08:07 PM