Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Autograph Forum- Primarily Sports (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Babe Ruth autograph - opinions (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=173981)

Runscott 08-12-2013 04:45 PM

Babe Ruth autograph - opinions

No 'gotcha' - just asking for opinions.

David Atkatz 08-12-2013 04:56 PM

Looks good.

thetruthisoutthere 08-12-2013 05:08 PM

It looks good to me.

JeremyW 08-12-2013 05:26 PM

I'm not an expert in Ruth signatures, but that "R" in Ruth sure does have some variations to it. Do you know when it was signed?

Runscott 08-12-2013 05:37 PM

Thanks guys. It was signed Feb 21 1943 at a theatre in the Bronx

Runscott 08-13-2013 10:17 AM

Thanks for the responses. This was not a 'gotcha', but I felt that the rest of the piece supported the item's authenticity and might color judgement - I wanted an opinion based on the autograph itself. Here's the rest of it. There are the usual concerns about the 'B' and 'a' connecting (but the end of the 'B' rests on the 'a' and isn't an actual continuation). A bigger concern is that Ruth should have been in Florida over the winter. I know that in 1943 he was doing stuff to support the war effort, but this was a movie theatre in the Bronx, not a major venue. I found the following 'memory' of an old guy who used to go to the Ward Theatre:

"On Saturdays, for 12 cents, later an inflationary 25 cents, we saw a double bill, a Western, a serial, animated cartoons ranging from primitive black and white to sophisticated Disney and Lantz creations, coming attractions, the newsreel and a public service short, in those war days, generally a War Bonds appeal, with the lights going up at the end of the movie and volunteers from the AWVS — the American Womens Volunteer Service— going up and down the aisles trolling for contributions."

r2678 08-13-2013 11:39 AM