Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Taxes On Consignments (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=175903)

joetinkerfan 09-17-2013 09:02 AM

Taxes On Consignments

I recently consigned some of my collection to an auction house and was wondering what the process is for taxes when it comes to the final sale. I would assume that a great majority of you have consigned in the past and have experience with this matter. Any information would be appreciated.

Hankphenom 09-17-2013 09:23 AM

Disclaimer: I am NOT a tax professional. But, you are responsible for paying taxes on any gain from the sale of your assets. If you have held them for more than a year, the capital gain rate (for your particular overall marginal tax rate) applies. You can deduct the cost of these assets, assuming you have those records, from the gain at sale, in determining the net taxable gain.

ullmandds 09-17-2013 10:27 AM

hank's right...but I'm guessing most do not claim this income...and I believe at this point the AH's do not report it.

honus94566 09-17-2013 10:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ullmandds (Post 1185762)
hank's right...but I'm guessing most do not claim this income...and I believe at this point the AH's do not report it.

Probably true. But, if a check is in excess of 10K, your bank is required by law to report it to big brother when a check of that size is cashed or deposited.

(from what I understand)

Texxxx 09-17-2013 10:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by honus94566 (Post 1185763)
Probably true. But, if a check is in excess of 10K, your bank is required by law to report it to big brother when a check of that size is cashed or deposited.

(from what I understand)

That's not true. I deposit lots of checks well over $10000 in my business and they are not reported.