Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Autograph Forum- Primarily Sports (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Some assistance needed (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=249154)

Schad 12-21-2017 08:55 PM

Some assistance needed

6 Attachment(s)
I'm a complete novice, who happens to be in possession of a ball signed by a number of members of the Yankees: Gehrig, Ruffing, Combs, Rolfe, Hoag, Tommy Henrich, Johnny Murphy, and the immortal Frank Makosky (whose presence would seem to peg this as 1937). I contacted Heritage Auctions a few years back; as it was neither a highly desirable single Gehrig or a more complete team ball, they stated that its price at auction would be highly variable...it would effectively depend on whether the right buyer or buyers were found to take an interest.

The ball has been in my family since signed -- my great-great aunt worked at a Boston area hotel at that time, and it was supposedly signed during a September road trip -- and consequently it is not authenticated. Heritage didn't seem to raise any concerns in that regard, but I'd also imagine that is something they would address if taking the ball on consignment. I'm in something of a backwater in terms of proximity to places where I could have it authenticated (the Maritimes, in Canada), and am somewhat reticent to ship it off unless it's wholly necessary.

I'm curious what route those here would take if seeking a buyer. Get it authenticated, or are the signatures verifiable enough to sell as is? Submit it to an auction house, or try to find a private buyer (and precisely how one would suggest going about that)? I'm well aware that these are complex, open-ended questions, so any advice big or small is much appreciated.

A few pictures:

BillyCoxDodgers3B 12-21-2017 09:03 PM

Unofficial ball with Gehrig displaying as a sweet spot single. It's worth about $3K. Try to sell here for free.