Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   suggestions for a new set?!? (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=65519)

Archive 07-28-2004 06:46 AM

suggestions for a new set?!?

Posted By: <b>rich&nbsp; </b><p>Hi,<BR>I recently completed a 1955 Topps set (I know not vintage) and am working on a 1951 topps Bluebacks to go with my complete redback set. (Again not vintage I know) And a 1936 Goudey set that is not really a hard set to complete, but fun.<BR><BR>I also am collecting T205's (1/2 done) in lower condition (I am a teacher and not making too much $$) and sporadically the 1941 playball set. <BR><BR>My question is can anyone give me any suggestions on a 25-30 card set, not too hard to find or expensive, kind of like the 36 goudeys... I like collecting the smaller sets along with a couple larger ones because if I find em I am happy, but if not it was no big deal.<BR><BR>Any ideas would be appreciated. <BR>Thanks,<BR>Rich<BR><BR>ps- I did look through the "Big Book O Baseball Cards- the 1993 edition"

Archive 07-28-2004 06:50 AM

Posted By: <b>Jon Canfield</b><p>Ok - not too vintage but old enough... 1948 Bowman set - Only 48 cards, some great players, and easy to find. I completed the set when I was 11 years old and recently started to upgrade condition (my original set was probably around PSA 3!). It has always been a personal favorite of mine so I'll suggest it.

Archive 07-28-2004 06:58 AM

Posted By: <b>Larry O</b><p>How about T201s? 50 cards with a ton of HOFs, plus Cicotte, Chase, etc. Really nice, interesting set. It is relatively inexpensive in low grade and is readily available on ebay.

Archive 07-28-2004 08:15 AM