Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Sports (Primarily) Vintage Memorabilia Forum incl. Game Used (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   When do you clean a photo? (With an example) (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=242329)

Jobu 07-13-2017 01:26 PM

When do you clean a photo? (With an example)

1 Attachment(s)
I am new to collecting photos and am trying figure out what to do with the photo below, a picture of Mickey Mantle on his first pro team, the semi-pro Whiz Kids, from 1947 when he was 16 years old. Mantle and a few of the other players have signed the picture (the other sigs are barely legible).

The condition is a bit rough because it is an original that belonged to one of the kids in the picture, Guy Crow, who was the bat boy (left end of the right bench).

I don't think I am interested in having the missing parts restored as I see the condition as part of the history. I am worried that the dirt and stuff on it might not be good for the picture over time ... not to mention the smudges also obscure the image a bit.

Is having it professionally cleaned an acceptable thing to do? If so, is it really costly?

Thanks in advance.

hcv123 07-13-2017 07:18 PM

Don't knwo the answer to your question, but.....

Just wanted to appreciate what an amazing photo that is!! Wow!!

Jobu 07-23-2017 06:50 PM

Thanks Howard!

cfhofer 07-24-2017 12:05 PM

Leave the photo alone. Spend the money instead on a nice frame with UV protection and acid-free matte. Nice piece!

drcy 07-24-2017 12:14 PM

You could look into getting it professionally cleaned and conserved. I don't know the price, but it would be worth looking into for your photo.