Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Postwar Baseball Cards Forum (Pre-1980) (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Value of 1973 OPC Baseball Set (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=274289)

JohnH19 10-02-2019 02:37 PM

Value of 1973 OPC Baseball Set

Hello all,

I have an opportunity to purchase a 1973 OPC set in ex/mt condition, other than typical centering issues. The seller is asking $750 for the set which is stored in sheets and a binder.

I have been hesitating for a couple of months because there are so few reference points regarding values of OPC sets. I have no idea what a reasonable price to pay is. Anybody have any thoughts? Any and all input would be appreciated.

Thanks!

John

JollyElm 10-02-2019 02:47 PM

Just a rudimentary thought, but I would highly concentrate on what the 'big' names look like. Cards like the Schmidt RC, #1 All Time HR leaders, Nolan Ryan, Goose Gossage RC, Mays, Clemente, Aaron, etc. If they are weak, that will tell you all you need to know. If they are pretty strong, you would still be in a beneficial position, even if you end up overpaying.

JohnH19 10-02-2019 03:12 PM

I haven't looked at the set in a while but I believe that a lot of the star cards were quite badly off center. Not sure about the Schmidt because of the design of the multi-player cards. The individual cards are easy to judge.

Hxcmilkshake 10-02-2019 07:24 PM

Even with strong exmt keys this seems high for OPC.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Yastrzemski Sports 10-04-2019 08:20 PM

I love opc cards. I love the bright backs and the way they differ from Topps. Still waiting for people to realize how rare they are and for the value to explode.

I don’t think the price is out of line. All that really matters is if it’s worfh it to you.

brob28 10-05-2019 06:13 AM