Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Postwar Baseball Cards Forum (Pre-1980) (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Question regarding 1968 Milton Bradley Nolan Ryan (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=256855)

deepstep19 06-29-2018 10:37 AM

Question regarding 1968 Milton Bradley Nolan Ryan

Just wanting to get some input on this card. In particular the PsA 6 for regular Topps and Milton Bradley Nolan Ryan's are both VCP around 600. However the PSA population for the all regular Topps PSA is 8164 and the Milton Bradley total is 257. Just curious as to why the Milton Bradley is not worth more since apparently it's way more scarce?

rsdill2 06-29-2018 10:50 AM

I'm no expert on the '68 MBs but here's my thoughts:

-PSA only recently began labeling MBs - so for 20 years all 68 Ryan's have been labeled Topps, thus skewing the pop report

-Lots of people don't know / don't care about the MB variation. Simple supply/demand

swarmee 06-29-2018 02:07 PM

Also, people are putting together complete graded 1968 Topps sets; very few are putting together graded Milton Bradley sets.

toppcat 06-29-2018 04:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by swarmee (Post 1790848)
Also, people are putting together complete graded 1968 Topps sets; very few are putting together graded Milton Bradley sets.

This. MB too is almost a reprint if you think about it.

ALR-bishop 06-29-2018 05:01 PM

I have a set, ungraded. In a way the entire set is sort of a variation, and two MB cards are in fact listed as official variations to the 1968 Topps set. That caused me to get two copies of the Cox and Brinkman yellow name cards, one pair for the MB set and one for the base set, even though all the Brinkman and Cox variations are MB card

Like the 62 green tints I think graders would have a hard time accurately identifying MB cards unless they had a regular version of the card in hand to compare