Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Autograph Forum- Primarily Sports (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Fake Ty Cobb (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=263285)

Case12 12-14-2018 08:11 AM

Fake Ty Cobb

1 Attachment(s)
Hi all. Don't know if this useful for bad exemplars, but here is a fake Ty Cobb. I bought it in 98 at a show in Dallas. It used to be greenish, but has since faded. I studied his signature and thought I had it right. Displayed it for years.
A few years ago I decided to get some opinions. P.A.A.S struggled but eventually came back no. PSA took lots of extra time, but also came back no. I knew Wayne Stivers (a UACC contact) take a look and he eventually said no. - with certainty
So, I put it away in my closet for years. I know it's fake now.
Thoughts on what I missed? It bugged me because I spent so much time on his auto, and still got it wrong.
Thanks, Casey

SetBuilder 12-14-2018 10:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Case12 (Post 1835887)
Hi all. Don't know if this useful for bad exemplars, but here is a fake Ty Cobb. I bought it in 98 at a show in Dallas. It used to be greenish, but has since faded. I studied his signature and thought I had it right. Displayed it for years.
A few years ago I decided to get some opinions. P.A.A.S struggled but eventually came back no. PSA took lots of extra time, but also came back no. I knew Wayne Stivers (a UACC contact) take a look and he eventually said no. - with certainty
So, I put it away in my closet for years. I know it's fake now.
Thoughts on what I missed? It bugged me because I spent so much time on his auto, and still got it wrong.
Thanks, Casey

The paraph is wrong. That's the first thing that jumped out at me.

Fun fact: Paraphs were usually added to signatures in the old days in order to prevent forgeries.

Case12 12-14-2018 11:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SetBuilder (Post 1835924)