Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Sports (Primarily) Vintage Memorabilia Forum incl. Game Used (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   How do you remove a photo from a mount? (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=249345)

Jobu 12-27-2017 01:16 PM

How do you remove a photo from a mount?

1 Attachment(s)
I have a mounted Jim Thorpe photo and am wondering if anyone can shed some light on the process of removing a photo like this from its mount. The board is too thick to see through with a strong light, so I don't have any idea if something is written/stamped on the back. Thanks in advance.

drcy 12-27-2017 01:20 PM

I'd leave it as is. The photo is more desirable on a mount like that.

Jobu 12-27-2017 01:37 PM

Interesting. I am still learning about what is important for vintage photos, but I thought that being able to see the back, for both stamps/writing and paper type, was really important.

Runscott 12-27-2017 02:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by drcy (Post 1733173)
I'd leave it as is. The photo is more desirable on a mount like that.

+1 Curiosity killed the cat...and ruined the Thorpe photo.

Jobu 12-28-2017 10:55 AM

Thanks guys.

One more question - is there any risk of damage to a photo from a mount that isn't acid free? I have been thinking about this and can't think of examples of photos where an old mount appears to have damaged a real photo. Obviously cards, posters, ads, etc all suffer, but do photos? I also have another old team panoramic photo still on its original mount and the photo looks just fine.

Huysmans 12-28-2017 11:09 AM

Hey Bryan,

as others have stated, I'd leave the photo as is.
Very little could be gained by removing it with damage a possibility, plus the reverse of the mount does have editorial notes and stamps.