Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Sports (Primarily) Vintage Memorabilia Forum incl. Game Used (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Donald Frangipani $5 Million Lawsuit (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=119448)

bluebirds 01-09-2010 07:32 AM

Donald Frangipani $5 Million Lawsuit

About a year or so ago Donald Frangipani filed suit against a TV show and a laundry list of authenticators and others for defamation/libel (I'm not a lawyer). Haven't heard anything and wondered if any one knows what happened?
Martin Green

roarfrom34 01-09-2010 07:43 AM

curious where you saw that? I certainly would be interested in any updates as well

bluebirds 01-09-2010 09:40 AM

Heard about it through internet but only says suit was filed and did not see any thing re progress or outcome.

bluebirds 01-09-2010 10:46 AM

Here's the particulars of the case but again no outcome details.

Home » News » Hobby News » Frangipani suing HBO, Gumbel, PSA/DNA, Spence and Simon
Frangipani suing HBO, Gumbel, PSA/DNA, Spence and SimonAutograph authenticator Donald Frangipani has filed a defamation lawsuit against HBO and “Real Sports” host Bryant Gumble for $5 million, claiming the show incorrectly tied him to an autograph forgery ring. The suit, filed in Manhattan federal court, accuses HBO of “grossly irresponsible” and “biased” reporting in a “Real Sports” segment that piece described Frangipani as the “authenticator of choice” for the ring. Also named in the suit as defendants are PSA/DNA, and authenticators James Spence and Richard Simon. The complaint says HBO reported that Frangipani signed off on “thousands” of fakes for the ring. Frangipani claims he looked at fewer than 500 items and declared about 60 as fakes. “I had an excellent reputation, and, all of a sudden, I lost it all,” said Frangipani.

roarfrom34 01-09-2010 12:19 PM