Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Autograph Forum- Primarily Sports (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=31)
-   -   Newbie question on valuing on card autos (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=182448)

sb32 01-29-2014 01:18 PM

Newbie question on valuing on card autos

Forgive me if this has been covered, but couldn't find it searching the history. I'm new to collecting vintage on card autos and had a question on the best way to determine fair prices when buying. Is it the value of the non signed card plus the cost of the auto on a generic item like a ball? Some cards don't come up that often, if ever so tough to find pricing history. Is there a better way? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

bender07 01-29-2014 01:55 PM

An example would help. It really depends. I don't feel that there's a formula.

sb32 01-29-2014 02:20 PM

example

Like an early Eddie Mathews ('53 or '54) or Bob Gibson ('59 or '60). Graded PSA authentic. Clean autos. Cards themselves probably would grade vg-ex to ex.

Thanks.

packs 01-29-2014 02:26 PM

I think it will always be a personal value made by the person interesting in buying it. For me, I'd rather have a card signed by a player issued during their career. Others prefer baseballs or another medium.

A good example of a player who I think is more valuable on a card would be Mickey Mantle. Signed baseballs are available any time you want one really. But the bidding gets pretty spirited when its a signed card from the 1950s.

packs 01-29-2014 02:26 PM

Sorry. Double post.

sb32 01-29-2014 02:52 PM

Packs,

Thanks for the insight. I figured it would come down to what it is worth to you.

bender07 01-29-2014 03:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sb32 (Post 1233911)
Like an early Eddie Mathews ('53 or '54) or Bob Gibson ('59 or '60). Graded PSA authentic. Clean autos. Cards themselves probably would grade vg-ex to ex.

Thanks.