Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   How does pre-war cards price out if they become HOF'ers? (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=76750)

Archive 04-15-2005 03:19 PM

How does pre-war cards price out if they become HOF'ers?

Posted By: <b>DJ</b><p>I've been collecting Old Judge cards for four years now and it's a small collection of around fifty. I'm in my thirties, I have time. Let's say that Harry Stovey does make the Hall Of Fame next time out. <br /><br />How will that effect his price and demand? I see that the N172 McPhee has been selling at $5-6K and is that because of scarcity or because of his HOF induction in 2000? Thanks Forum.<br /><br />DJ

Archive 04-15-2005 04:06 PM

Posted By: <b>jay behrens</b><p>The McPhee price has to do with scarcity. From my experience, Stovey is can be eaily found compared to McPhee. When I first got into vintagve cards in 1981, the first OJ I looked for and bought was a Stovey. I've seen plenty since then.<br /><br />Jay<br><br>I've just reached Upper Lower Class. I am now officially a babe magnet for poor chicks.

Archive 04-15-2005 04:21 PM

Posted By: <b>DJ</b><p>I just grabbed an old Beckett Yearly from 1991 and found that Bid McPhee books in EX-MT at $150 and Stovey booked at $250 in EX-MT. I checked one of the yearly's from 2005 that I have at work and noted that the McPhee in EX-MT was at $5K. <br /><br />Leon? Julie? Anyone? Shed some light.<br /><br />DJ<br /><br />

Archive 04-15-2005 04:29 PM

Posted By: <b>davidcycleback</b><p>If you're in a major Hall of Fame or won a Nobel Prize you're famous even if no one knows who you are.<br /><br />If you have two photos signed by a not commonly known scientist, you will get multiple times the price for the photo where you say that he is a Nobel Prize Laureate.