NonSports Forum

Net54baseball.com
Welcome to Net54baseball.com. These forums are devoted to both Pre- and Post- war baseball cards and vintage memorabilia, as well as other sports. There is a separate section for Buying, Selling and Trading - the B/S/T area!! If you give an opinion of a person or company your full name needs to be in your post. Contact the moderator at leon@net54baseball.com should you have any questions or concerns. Enjoy!
Net54baseball.com
Net54baseball.com

Go Back   Net54baseball.com Forums > Net54baseball Postwar Sportscard Forums > Watercooler Talk- ALL sports talk

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2018, 08:41 AM
savedfrommyspokes savedfrommyspokes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,371
Default "What if" an Umpire's ruling was legit

As my kids have moved up in their youth baseball careers, I have seen a plethora of bad calls and explanations by youth umpires. Generally speaking, they balance out and are an expected part of the game.

One of my neighbors and I have coached a group of our kids from out neighborhood for the past few years. He spent a few seasons in AA in the Giants organization so he well versed on the nuances of baseball rules.

More so with rulings and explanations after a play, when an umpire applies the wrong ruling, we play a game we call "what if this was the rule".....


In last night's game, the other team with one out and a runner on third had a batter swing/miss at a pitch and was subsequently hit by a pitch. The ball rolled into foul territory and the umpire properly called a strike. However, the runner from third scored. We argued that the ball was dead and the runner couldn't advance. After consulting, the umps agreed it would have been a dead ball IF the batter didn't swing, but since he did swing, it was a live ball. They allowed the run, we protested he game, but won the game.

Now the fun part, the "what if this was the rule" game. All kinds of outcomes are possible with this "new" rule. First, if a batter swings/misses and is hit in the helmet and the ball bounces up in the air and the catcher catches it, the batter would be out with this rule. Another outcome, a team with a runner on third could send a batter up with arm guards wrist to shoulder and encourage their batter to swing and miss with one arm and "lean into" the pitch with the other (protected) arm and attempt to knock the ball into foul territory (where 8 of our players are not allowed to be positioned) to get the run home. If the ball was "live" in cases like this, both scenarios would be possible.

Thankfully baseball's rules have been well thought out so scenarios like this won't occur.....let's hear about some of your "what if this was the rule" outcomes.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2018, 12:33 PM
philliesfan philliesfan is offline
Robert J. Miller
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 596
Default

This is more of a "What would be the rule if this happened". I am sure there is a current rule in place but I don't know what it is.

A batter has 1 strike on him. He fouls the next pitch. The catcher runs 20 feet back looking for the ball in the air but can't locate it because the ball was fouled straight up in the air. The batter sees it coming down to home plate and takes another swing and hits the ball into left field. Is this is hit? What if he swung and missed, is that strike three? Is it interference?

Would be interested to hear the ruling

Thanks,
Robert
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2018, 01:44 PM
frankbmd's Avatar
frankbmd frankbmd is offline
Fr@nk Burke++
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Between the 1st tee and the 19th hole
Posts: 4,929
Default Interference everywhere

A few calls in the playoffs involving catcher interference (Grandal I think), a base runner hit by a batted ball (Braun), fan interference (Altuve's lost home run) and runner interference (Machado's aggressive (???) slides to break up double plays), so

I thought the previous post was going to say the catcher finally locates the ball straight up and that it lands on the umpire preventing him from catching it.

Alternatively if an umpire inadvertently diverts or blocks a base runner, is there such a thing as umpire interference?

Or if an umpire is hit by a batted ball is the umpire out?
__________________
FRANK:BUR:KETT - ALMOST OLD ENOUGH TO BE ON A PREWAR CARD.

519/1000 Monster Number --- WHAT'S YOUR MONSTER NUMBER?

Over*700* successful B/S/T transactions completed in 2012-18.
Over 500 sales with satisfied Board members served.
Thank you all.


All my cards are centered, some are just cut incorrectly.

Only 37.10% crazy based on recent polling data, but still a weird dude.

Last edited by frankbmd; 10-18-2018 at 03:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2018, 01:49 PM
scooter729's Avatar
scooter729 scooter729 is offline
Scott S
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston area
Posts: 1,941
Default

If the bat intentionally hits the ball a second time (more realistically, maybe on a bunt?), the batter is out and the play is dead.

If it happens unintentionally (like the batter drops the bat to run and the ball rolls into the bat), and the ball stays fair, the ball is live and in play. If the ball rolls foul, then it's foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philliesfan View Post
This is more of a "What would be the rule if this happened". I am sure there is a current rule in place but I don't know what it is.

A batter has 1 strike on him. He fouls the next pitch. The catcher runs 20 feet back looking for the ball in the air but can't locate it because the ball was fouled straight up in the air. The batter sees it coming down to home plate and takes another swing and hits the ball into left field. Is this is hit? What if he swung and missed, is that strike three? Is it interference?

Would be interested to hear the ruling

Thanks,
Robert
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2018, 02:37 PM
tschock tschock is offline
T@yl0r $ch0ck
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 987
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philliesfan View Post
This is more of a "What would be the rule if this happened". I am sure there is a current rule in place but I don't know what it is.

A batter has 1 strike on him. He fouls the next pitch. The catcher runs 20 feet back looking for the ball in the air but can't locate it because the ball was fouled straight up in the air. The batter sees it coming down to home plate and takes another swing and hits the ball into left field. Is this is hit? What if he swung and missed, is that strike three? Is it interference?

Would be interested to hear the ruling

Thanks,
Robert
What I would rule (not referencing any playbook) is a dead ball, similar if a batter fouled off the ball and it hit himself. Only Bugs Bunny can pitch 3 strikes with a single throw. All this assuming that the catcher didn't have a chance at the catch, which if so, would then be batter interference and the batter would be out (interference being a judgement call).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2018, 03:16 PM
philliesfan philliesfan is offline
Robert J. Miller
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 596
Default

Bric-a Brac-a Firecracker
Sis-boom-Bah
Bugs Bunny Bugs Bunny
Rah Rah Rah

Bric-a Brac-a Firecracker
Sis-boom-Bah
Bugs Bunny Bugs Bunny
Rah Rah Rah

Repeat several times faster each time..........

Last edited by philliesfan; 10-18-2018 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T206 "Brown" Old Mill Southern League Back...Legit? usernamealreadytaken Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions 51 02-28-2015 02:18 PM
Ever Heard of "Americana Memorabilia inc" - Likely 1990s - Barry Didinsky - Legit? meatloaf Autograph Forum- Primarily Sports 3 03-31-2014 08:28 PM
Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens makes ruling on "Ruth's Called Shot" WhenItWasAHobby Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions 5 11-29-2010 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


ebay GSB