Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Vintage (WWII & Older) Baseball Cards & New Member Introductions (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Question for experienced card collectors (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=163498)

brownscollector78 02-14-2013 01:21 PM

Question for experienced card collectors

Let me preface this question by stating that I am new to the card game

I just recently purchased a one month subscription to Beckett online because I am just now starting to get into football card collecting.

A seller had a card listed for a certain value that was 4 times greater than that of the Beckett online price guide. I emailed him and asked him if he could come down on it, referencing the price guide value.

He stated that he doesn't go by the Beckett price guide because "they have not been changed in years" and he goes by market value.

Is this accurate? If so....is buying the price guide subscription a waste of money?

Blunder19 02-14-2013 01:27 PM

my opinion is he subscription is a waste of money.. a much better way to check pricing is to go to ebay and search "ended listings" for each card your interested in.. that way you can see market value of what the cards are selling for...

also you can go to card target for pricing on vintage cards.. their database pulls from ebay I think and that is free.

hope that helps

bn2cardz 02-14-2013 01:28 PM

Since you are referencing Football in particular this may be better in the Football forum (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)

As far as Beckett I personally don't think it is a problem to use it as a guideline, but sometimes the market moves before Beckett does also you have to use the guide for all the info. For instance you can't look at VGEX prices for a Mint card and vice versa.