Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Modern Baseball Cards Forum (1980-Present) (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Bryce Harper 2012 Topps Series 2 661(A) (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=327901)

JWBlue 11-22-2022 09:23 AM

Bryce Harper 2012 Topps Series 2 661(A)

A few questions.

I believe there are reprints/counterfeits. How is possible to distinguish between the reprints/counterfeits and the authentic?

How was the autograph version distributed? I have read three different ways.
As a redemption, in packs, and as part of a promotional program that I do not recall the name of now.

I am chasing these cards if anyone has one available.

thatkidfromjerrymaguire 11-26-2022 08:00 AM

It was my understanding that both varieties were pack pulled only, but I’m not an expert.

I actually pulled one of the non-auto versions from a jumbo pack on clearance sale back in 2013. Sold it for about $150, which was a good price at the time. Should have held but oh well! Used the money to buy a Babe Ruth bat card which I still have and enjoy.

As far as counterfeits, yes I have seen many listed. If buying online I think buying a graded one is the safest way….especially for the auto version. I feel like the auto version is the one counterfeited the most.

If you can find a reputable online dealer you might be ok buying raw. Otherwise if you can see one in hand, look at it closely with a loupe, compare the ink and dot patterns with some legit 2012 commons, and use common sense. They are rare but still come up for sale regularly.

JWBlue 11-26-2022 09:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thatkidfromjerrymaguire (Post 2287355)
It was my understanding that both varieties were pack pulled only, but I’m not an expert.