Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Postwar Baseball Cards Forum (Pre-1980) (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   OT: Grading Question / Opinions Needed (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=294468)

The-Cardfather 01-08-2021 09:08 AM

OT: Grading Question / Opinions Needed

I am not a professional card grader. But having said that, I've done pretty well in estimating what a card will grade at PSA. The most that my "guestimate" has been off was by 2 grades.

So this one has me baffled.

I recently purchased a 1963 Post Cereal Sandy Koufax - PSA 3. I think that the card is significantly under-graded. In my opinion, I think that this card should grade at a PSA 7 or 8.

The file size of the scan is too large to include with this post, so I've created a temporary page within my ImageEvent site for the scans (link below). If you click on the image, you can enlarge it.

https://imageevent.com/the_cardfathe...alkoufaxhodges

I've also included a scan of my 1963 Post Cereal Gil Hodges - PSA 9, which I feel is comparable. I realize that this card was graded a few years ago, so that by PSA's standards today; it would probably grade at a PSA 7 or 8.

And yes, we've all heard the phrase, "Buy the card, not the holder.", but the fact that I'm probably missing something here is driving me nuts.

What am I missing here? What are your thoughts?

bobbyw8469 01-08-2021 09:22 AM

That is a good looking 3. Can I see the back?

hcv123 01-08-2021 10:07 AM

Trying to figure out PSA grading

is truly an exercise in futility! The only thing I can say - is I sometimes am shocked at a card getting a better grade than I thought it should albeit much less often then one receiving a lower grade than I thought it should. So there is some degree of consistency to their inconsistency.

The-Cardfather 01-08-2021 03:16 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by bobbyw8469 (Post 2053778)