Net54baseball.com Forums

Net54baseball.com Forums (http://www.net54baseball.com/index.php)
-   Net54baseball Sports (Primarily) Vintage Memorabilia Forum incl. Game Used (http://www.net54baseball.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   1950 Brooklyn Dodgers Autographed Ball- Thoughts? (http://www.net54baseball.com/showthread.php?t=345410)

ibuysportsephemera 01-23-2024 10:22 AM

1950 Brooklyn Dodgers Autographed Ball- Thoughts?

12 Attachment(s)
Any Dodgers experts that could weigh in on if any autographs are clubhouse signatures and possible value. I am asking for a relatives elderly Aunt. The provenance seems very good. Thanks in advance. Jeff

khkco4bls 01-23-2024 05:16 PM

Jackie looks clubhouse to me.

ibuysportsephemera 01-24-2024 03:55 AM

Thanks Kevin! Anyone else have any opinions about this ball or it's value?

Jeff

Topnotchsy 01-24-2024 09:56 AM

I'm not a true expert, but own many Jackie signatures and have learned a few things over the years. The Jackie looks a little unusual to me but there are two reasons I would be surprised if it was a clubhouse sig:

1) In general, unless a ball was 100% signed clubhouse, it would be passed around the team to be signed firt and only then filled in by people in the clubhouse. Because of this (in my experience), if you find a clubhouse signature, you will generally find the signatures underneath it are also clubhouse signatures since they would start after the players finished. It is possible that Jackie had not signed and there were no other spots left to sign so a clubhouse attendant signed on the Spalding logo, but I doubt it.)

2) Generally, clubhouse signatures are all the same color since they were using a single pen. This ball is signed with many different pens, and Jackie's is signed with a black pen. Given this reality, I am quite confident that a clubhouse attendant was not signing the whole panel

perezfan 01-24-2024 12:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Topnotchsy (Post 2407563)